Enhanced OSINT / EDD
Meridian Trade & Logistics Ltd
Counterparty intelligence profile — corporate structure, management OSINT, adverse media and KYC/EDD readiness · Sector: Logistics
Prepared from public sources. This report distinguishes verified facts, corporate statements, media reporting, allegations and low-confidence leads. It is not legal advice, an audit, a criminal investigation, or a determination of liability. Sample report — all data below is entirely fictional.
MERIDIAN TRADE & LOGISTICS LTD - ENHANCED OSINT / EDD
PRIVATE & CONFIDENTIAL · SAMPLE
1. Executive summary
Enhanced verification required
Meridian is a credible, active UAE freight-forwarding operator with a genuine multi-year commercial relationship to a regional bonded-logistics partner, consistent registry history, and no adverse findings attributable to its core trading activity. The investigation did, however, identify that one of its three directors — appointed as Finance Director in 2022 — was convicted of financial fraud in 2020 in connection with an unrelated prior venture, a fact not disclosed in the company's own onboarding materials. This does not, by itself, mean Meridian's current operations are compromised, but it is the single finding most likely to change a counterparty's decision and should be addressed directly with the company before proceeding.
1.1 Key EDD observations
| Theme | Verified / reported position | Recommended EDD treatment |
| Corporate identity | Active UAE free-zone company since 2019, valid registration. | Obtain current registry extract and licence scope. |
| Finance director background | R. Vance (Finance Director, appointed 2022) convicted of fraud in 2020 in an unrelated venture; current status not confirmed. | Request written explanation and current court/sentencing status directly from the company. |
| Ownership | 55% held by an offshore holding company; UBO chain unresolved in open sources. | Request certified UBO declaration. |
| Tax status | Clearance certificate on file expired 31 Dec 2025. | Request current authenticated clearance. |
| Key partner relationship | Historical access to bonded-warehouse capacity confirmed by contract; renewal not on file. | Obtain renewed agreement and issuer-side confirmation. |
2. Scope, methodology & limitations
Covers corporate identity and registration, ownership and control, key commercial relationships, sector-specific regulatory exposure, litigation and enforcement history for the company and its directors, sanctions/PEP and adverse-media screening, and document consistency — from open sources and client-supplied material.
2.1 Limitations
- No access to paid registries, sanctions screening tools, or beneficial-ownership databases.
- Absence of a result does not prove absence of the underlying fact — repeat screening with full identifiers before larger transactions.
- Meridian is privately held; the full capital structure is not entirely reconstructable from open sources.
- Court reporting on the finance director's 2020 conviction is limited to two independent media sources; the original court record was not directly accessed.
2.2 Source grading
| Grade | Meaning | Use |
| A | Official registry, regulator, court, verification portal | Highest evidential weight, subject to identity matching. |
| B | Established media, named parties | Used for reported facts, adverse history, explicit attribution. |
| C | Client-supplied or self-published corporate material | Evidence of what was represented, not independent verification. |
| D | Social media, forums, secondary directories | Lead only, not used to assert wrongdoing. |
3. Corporate identity & structure
| Legal name | Meridian Trade & Logistics Ltd |
| Registration number | KW-2019-778341 (illustrative) |
| Incorporation date | 14 March 2019 |
| Registered office | Jebel Ali Free Zone, Dubai, UAE (illustrative) |
| Business activity | General trading, freight forwarding and customs brokerage |
| Tax status | Clearance certificate expired 31 December 2025 |
3.1 Related / group entities
| Entity | Jurisdiction | Evidence | Observation |
| Kavango Holdings Ltd | Offshore (Mauritius) | Shareholder register (client-supplied) | 55% parent holding; UBO unresolved |
| Ndalu Ventures Ltd | UAE | Corporate registry | Active since 2016, shareholders identified |
4. Ownership, control & funding
| Holder | % | Observation |
| Kavango Holdings Ltd (offshore) | 55% | Ultimate beneficial ownership not resolved in open sources. |
| Ndalu Ventures Ltd | 30% | Active operating company since 2016; shareholders identified in the registry. |
| Managing director (natural person) | 15% | Direct holding confirmed in the corporate registry. |
5. Key relationships & commercial ties
| Name | Type | Description | Evidence |
| Continental Freight Exchange (CFE) | Commercial partner | Bonded-warehouse and customs-transit capacity provider; prepayment required, initial six-month term | Client-supplied agreement (grade C) |
| Ashford Regional Bank | Banking relationship | Corporate account referenced as the designated payment channel in the CFE agreement | Client-supplied agreement (grade C) |
6. Sector-specific risk considerations (Logistics)
| Domain | Observation |
| Customs & freight-forwarding licensing | Requires confirmation of which permissions sit with Meridian versus its bonded-warehouse partner. |
| Bonded-capacity dependency | Access to CFE's warehouse capacity is contractual and conditional, not owned infrastructure. |
| Financial-control exposure | Given the finance director's history (Section 7), request confirmation of segregation-of-duties and payment-authorisation controls. |
7. Litigation & enforcement
Adverse finding — reported conviction, finance director (unrelated prior matter)
Public reporting reviewed identifies R. Vance as convicted of financial fraud in March 2020, in connection with a prior venture unrelated to Meridian. Current appeal, sentence-completion and rehabilitation status were not established and should be confirmed directly.
(illustrative) Two independent media sources report that R. Vance, prior to joining Meridian, was a director of a separate trading company that collapsed in 2019 amid allegations of invoice fraud; Vance was charged in late 2019 and convicted in March 2020, receiving a suspended sentence and a reported three-year director disqualification. No public record was located confirming whether that disqualification period had lawfully expired relative to Vance's 2022 appointment at Meridian — a specific, closeable verification gap, not a conclusion of ongoing wrongdoing.
| Date | Event | Evidential status |
| 2019 | Prior company (unrelated to Meridian) enters administration amid invoice-fraud allegations. | Reported by media (grade B). |
| Late 2019 | R. Vance charged in connection with the above matter. | Reported by media (grade B). |
| March 2020 | R. Vance convicted; suspended sentence and director disqualification reported. | Reported by media (grade B); original court record not directly accessed. |
| 2022 | R. Vance appointed Finance Director of Meridian. | Corporate registry (grade A). |
No litigation involving Meridian itself, or its other two directors, was located in the sources searched as of the report date. This is a limited open-web result, not comprehensive court-record coverage.
7.1 Adverse media
| Summary | Source type | Corroborated |
| R. Vance's 2020 fraud conviction (see above). | B | Yes — two independent sources |
| One article references a pending commercial dispute with a former Meridian supplier. | D | No |
7.2 Sanctions & PEP screening
| Subject | Sanctions result | PEP result |
| Meridian Trade & Logistics Ltd | No match (OFAC/EU/UN) | — |
| M. Al Farsi (Managing Director) | No match | No match |
| S. Novak (Non-executive Director) | No match | No match |
| R. Vance (Finance Director) | No match | No match — conviction above is criminal, not sanctions/PEP |
8. Individual due diligence / management
| Name | Role | Observation | Grade |
| M. Al Farsi (illustrative) | Managing Director | Also a director of a company dissolved in 2021 for unpaid tax — common in SME restructuring, no adverse media identified. | A |
| S. Novak (illustrative) | Non-executive Director | No adverse history identified in open sources. | A |
| R. Vance (illustrative)FLAGGED | Finance Director (2022) | Convicted of financial fraud in 2020 in an unrelated prior venture — see Section 7. Not disclosed in onboarding materials. | B |
9. Known connections map
| Entity / person | Relationship | Entity / person |
| Meridian Trade & Logistics Ltd | 55% owned by | Kavango Holdings Ltd |
| Meridian Trade & Logistics Ltd | bonded-capacity partner | Continental Freight Exchange |
| M. Al Farsi | also director of | [company dissolved 2021, unpaid tax] |
| R. Vance | previously director of | [unrelated company, collapsed 2019, fraud conviction 2020] |
10. Consolidated risk matrix
| Domain | Assessment | Basis |
| Corporate identity | LOW | Active registration, no dissolution proceedings identified. |
| Management integrity | HIGH | Finance director's undisclosed 2020 fraud conviction, unrelated matter. |
| Ownership transparency | MODERATE | 55% held offshore; UBO chain unresolved. |
| Litigation (company itself) | LOW | No matters located involving Meridian directly. |
| Sanctions / PEP | LOW, subject to screening | No matches found; requires paid full-identifier screening. |
| Regulatory / tax | MODERATE | Tax clearance expired; licensing scope needs confirmation. |
| Key-partner dependency | MODERATE | Bonded capacity is contractual, not owned; renewal unconfirmed. |
Overall file status
Enhanced verification required. No hard blocker attaches to Meridian's core trading activity, and no litigation or sanctions issue was found against the company itself — but the finance director's undisclosed prior fraud conviction is a materially significant finding that should be raised directly with the company and independently confirmed before proceeding with any transaction involving financial controls or credit exposure.
11. Verification request list
- Request R. Vance's written explanation of the 2020 conviction, current sentencing/disqualification status, and confirmation any disqualification period has lawfully expired.
- Request confirmation of Meridian's payment-authorisation and segregation-of-duties controls, given the finance director's history.
- Provide the current renewed CFE agreement, including term, amendments and board approval.
- Request certified beneficial-ownership declaration for Kavango Holdings.
- Provide a current, authenticated tax clearance certificate.
- Request written clarification of the commercial dispute referenced in the press.
12. Independent verification
Findings flagged as material underwent an additional, independent review pass — checked again from the claim itself, without reference to the original findings or sources.
| Claim | Verification result | Note |
| R. Vance convicted of fraud in 2020, unrelated prior matter | CONFIRMED | Both media sources independently located; disqualification-expiry status remains unconfirmed by either investigation. |
| 55% held by Kavango Holdings, UBO unresolved | CONFIRMED | Independently corroborated via the same registry filing. |
| Tax clearance expired 31 Dec 2025 | CONFIRMED | Matches document date supplied by client. |
13. Conclusion
The material reviewed supports the existence of Meridian Trade & Logistics Ltd and a genuine operating relationship with a regional logistics partner, with no adverse findings against the company itself or its two other directors. The finance director's undisclosed 2020 fraud conviction in an unrelated matter is the single finding most likely to affect a counterparty's decision, and should be raised with the company directly rather than treated as disqualifying on its own. Beyond that, the remaining task is file completion: UBO declaration, renewed partner agreement, and current tax clearance.
14. Source register
| Ref | Source | Type | Grade |
| S01 | Corporate registry extract (simulated) | Official registry | A |
| S02 | Sanctions screening portals — OFAC/EU/UN (simulated) | Official verification | A |
| S03 | Regional business press archive (simulated) | Media | B |
| S04 | Court-reporting news archive, R. Vance conviction (simulated) | Media | B |
| S05 | Second independent media source, R. Vance conviction (simulated) | Media | B |
| S06 | Corporate registry history — predecessor entity (simulated) | Official registry | A |
| D01 | Client-supplied CFE agreement (simulated) | Client document | C |
| D02 | Client-supplied director onboarding declaration (simulated) | Client document | C |
Appendix — Evidence matrix
| Key proposition | Evidence | Confidence | Decision effect |
| Meridian is a UAE company incorporated in 2019 | Registry extract | High | Confirms identity; young entity, limited track record. |
| R. Vance was convicted of fraud in 2020, unrelated matter | Two independent media sources | High for conviction; moderate for current disqualification status | Materially affects confidence in financial controls; requires direct confirmation before extending credit exposure. |
| CFE relationship is genuine but conditional | Client-supplied agreement, document-content analysis | High as document analysis | Buyer may effectively finance the counterparty's prepayment. |
| No litigation against Meridian itself | Open-web search, limited coverage | Moderate — open-web only | Supports proceeding, subject to paid litigation-database confirmation. |
Appendix — Disclaimer: this is an independent, open-source counterparty-intelligence report prepared for transaction decision support. It is not legal advice, a statutory audit, an assurance engagement, a credit rating, a forensic finding, or a determination of criminal liability. Public information can be incomplete, inaccurate, later corrected, or unavailable. Confirmation via registries, courts, banks, regulators, the company itself, and commercial screening tools remains essential. All data in this sample is entirely fictional — Meridian Trade & Logistics, its directors, and all events described do not correspond to any real company or person. Prepared by KYWHO.